UQ computers running the Windows 10 or Apple macOS operating systems are required to upgrade to the most current version available as part of UQ's cyber security and patch management policies.

To prepare for the next upgrade, familiarise yourself with the process.

Protect your data

While your data shouldn’t be affected during the upgrade, there is always a small risk that an issue might occur. We recommend you move any locally stored data to one of the following storage locations:

  1. Shared folders (group shared files)
  2. RDM (research data)
  3. OneDrive (personal files).

Evergreen updates

Evergreen updates are a way of keeping computers and software continually up-to-date. Previously when new features or revisions of software or operating systems were released, an entirely new version was required to take advantage of these features. This can be a complex process, where things could go wrong, or incompatibilities could occur.

The Evergreen model is one where software or the operating system is patched more frequently with smaller, lower impact updates. This allows your system to be kept updated over time while still maintaining functionality and limiting downtime.

Why are Evergreen updates important? 

Keeping software and operating systems up-to-date is crucial in:

  • protecting your data against security vulnerabilities
  • increasing performance
  • unlocking additional features.

Having a fully patched system allows for:

  • the best user experience
  • protection against malicious software
  • reduced incompatibilities
  • fewer system bugs.

Critical security updates

Updates and patches that address operating system vulnerabilities are regularly assessed by IT. When a vulnerability is determined to be a significant risk to the University, the patches are considered as critical security updates and are pushed to your device as soon as possible.

Upgrade schedule and time estimates

Included in the standard monthly updates for June and December, we will now be adding Windows feature updates alongside the normal Windows and Office patches.

There are 2 feature updates released by Microsoft every year: 1 mid-year (June) and 1 at the end of the year (December).

The mid-year feature update is larger, taking roughly 30 minutes to install. It includes a set of updates, features and security patches.

The end of the year feature update is smaller, containing feature and performance tweaks and takes approximately 30 seconds to install.

All other updates will be applied as normal with the inclusion of a delayable restart.

The installation deadline will be displayed on the pop-up window. When the deadline has been reached, your computer will automatically install the updates.

Expected pop-up windows

When the updates are installed, you will see the standard updates window. The window will give you the following options:

  • Right now: This will immediately begin the installation and restart the computer.
  • Outside my business hours: Your business hours can be configured using the link. The updates and restart will begin outside of that period, so not to affect your work
  • Snooze and remind me: The message will be snoozed and then presented again after the specified time selected.
Example of a Windows 10 update pop-up notification.
Example of the updates window.

When you click 'OK' the installation process will begin. During the installation your computer may ask you to restart. If this is happens you will be given an 8 hour period to do so. If you restart immediately the update installation will be completed. If you choose to snooze the update, you will receive hourly reminders about the pending restart until the final 30 minutes where you will be no longer be able to dismiss this message. When the timer elapses your computer will automatically be restarted.

If you see only the second message and not the first (due to the type of updates installed), the updates were installed silently and a restart is all that remains.

Example of the Windows updates restart window.
Example of the restart window.

After the installation process is complete, you can log back into your computer as normal.

Should you experience any issues, submit an IT request for advice.

Upgrade schedule and time estimates

Minor Apple updates (security patches, operating system (OS) “point revisions” and other minor updates) will be applied to your system monthly in alignment with the Microsoft updating schedule on UQ computers.

The minor updates will take roughly between 5 and 30 minutes to install depending on severity and hardware.

Major Apple OS upgrades (moving from one version of the OS to the next) will be applied to your system in alignment with the Microsoft feature updates installation schedule. These will be applied during the December monthly updates.

All other updates will be applied as normal with the inclusion of a delayable restart.

A prompt will be displayed notifying you of available updates and provide you with the option of installing now or postponing the update check. You will be reminded every 3 hours until the update is completed.

When the deadline has been reached, your computer will automatically install the updates.

Expected pop-up windows

When minor updates are ready to be installed, you will see the updates window below with the following options:

  • Postpone: This will close the window and snooze the prompt for 3 hours.
  • Proceed: Your system will open the standard Apple updates window from System Preferences where you can view available updates and install them.
Example of a macOS software update pop-up notification.
Example of the updates window

When major upgrades are ready to be installed, you will see the upgrade window below with the following options:

  • Postpone: This will close the window and snooze the prompt for 3 hours.
  • Proceed: Your system will go ahead and install the OS upgrade. This will download and then install and may take some time depending on your connection. A separate window will display to show you the status of the upgrade process.

Example of a macOS major software update pop-up notification.

During the installation your computer will automatically restart. If you choose to postpone, you will receive reminders about the pending upgrade every 3 hours. When the deadline is reached, your computer will automatically be upgraded.

After the installation process is complete, you can log back into your computer as normal.

Should you experience any issues, submit an IT request for advice.

When an update becomes available, you can turn on automatic updates, or manually update it.

Automatically update

When an update is available, your device downloads and installs the update overnight while charging and connected to Wi-Fi. You’re notified before an update is installed. To turn on automatic updates:

  1. Go to 'Settings'. 
  2. Tap 'General', then 'Software Update'
  3. Tap 'Automatic Updates'.
  4. Turn on 'Download iOS Updates' and 'Install iOS Updates'.

Manually update

At any time, you can check for and install software updates:

  1. Go to 'Settings'.
  2. Tap 'General', then 'Software Update'.
  3. The screen shows the currently installed version of iOS and whether an update is available.
  4. Tap 'Install Now'. If you see 'Download and Install' instead, tap it to download the update, enter your passcode, then tap 'Install Now'.