The Council provides a consultative mechanism for developing and implementing inclusion initiatives focused on culturally and linguistically diverse staff across UQ.

We aim to:

  • foster an environment that is respectful and allows for the empowerment of staff from diverse backgrounds
  • establish strong policies in line with legislation that are anti-harassment, anti-discrimination and anti-racism
  • provide resources and programs for the wider UQ community to raise cultural awareness and promote inclusive workplace practices
  • develop and maintain an inclusive environment from staff of diverse backgrounds; along with increasing community connection
  • devise UQ’s first CALD Inclusion Strategy.

Cultural Inclusion Council Terms of Reference (PDF, 175.7 KB)

CALD Staff Inclusion Action Plan (PDF, 2.7 MB)

Rongyu LiRongyu Li – Executive Champion
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement)
Neena MitterProfessor Neena Mitter – Chair
Centre Director, Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation (QAAFI)
Liliana Hernandez MolinaLiliana Hernandez Molina – Member
Senior Principal Consultant, Gender Programs Research
Olivia Knuckey - Member
Senior Coordinator, Operations Office of PVC (Indigenous)
Renee de Simone 
Senior Manager, Student Wellbeing and Support  
Greg Hainge
Head, School of Languages & Cultures 
Tanya Lutvey

Tanya Lutvey
Senior Manager, Workplace Diversity and Inclusion 

Francis Nona
Indigenous Pathways Lecturer, School of Public Health  
Hassan Khosravi
Senior Lecturer, Learning Analytics, ITaLI
Jenny Setchell
NHMRC Early Career Fellow HABS
Shirin Jamarani
Implementation Support Specialist, Research Management Business Transformation
Mila Miladinovic
Senior Marketing and Communications Officer
Sebastian Hagebaum
Manager, BEL Career Services
Salit Kark
Professor, School of Biological Sciences
Karin SellbergKarin Sellberg
Lecturer, School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry
Renuka MahadevanRenuka Mahadevan
Associate Professor, School of Economics
Alain de Sales
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Andrew L. Liveris Academy for Innovation and Leadership
Joerg Henning
Associate Professor, School of Veterinary Science
Sanam AhmadzadaSanam Ahmadzada
Research Officer, Queensland Centre for Mental Health Research
Jasmina FejzicJasmina Fejzic
Lecturer, School of Pharmacy
Jeffrey MakJeffrey Mak
Research Officer, Institute of Molecular Bioscience
Faiza El-HigziFaiza El-Higzi – Member
Postgraduate Student Representative HASS
Bisakha Dewan – Member
Postgraduate Student Representative Gatton
Justin (Yi-Hung) Chen – Member
Undergraduate Student Representative
Myo Sumiko (Sumi) – Member
Undergraduate Student Representative
 Workplace Diversity & Inclusion Officer - Secretariat
Administrative Officer, Secretariat CIC Central HR
Fatima Mckague
Program Manager, Queensland Cardiovascular Research Network