The UQ Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) consists of:

  • the main committee, which meets 3 times a year
  • a subcommittee (IBSC), which meets approximately every 6 weeks.

The subcommittee assesses all proposals for dealing with genetically modified material, hazardous biological material or potentially infectious microorganisms.

Both committees are made up of:

  • experts from throughout UQ on the many areas of biological research undertaken by UQ staff and students
  • biological safety advisors to ensure compliance with legislative and UQ requirements
  • an independent member to ensure an unbiased approach.

If you work with biological material or in areas where work with biological material is being undertaken, you need to be aware of and abide by the relevant legislation, standards, procedures and guidelines that apply to you and the work you're performing. Read the Biosafety Policy [2.40.01] for more information.


Applications for approval

The subcommittee assesses all applications for dealing with genetically modified material, hazardous biological material and potentially infectious microorganisms.

Chief investigators must obtain appropriate approvals from the subcommittee before starting work.

To apply for approvals, follow the procedures for:

You must finalise your application at least 2 weeks before the next IBSC meeting date to guarantee it will be considered at that meeting.

Late submissions may be accepted at the IBSC Chair's discretion if there are extenuating circumstances.

Meeting dates and submission deadlines

Meeting date Submission deadline
23 October 2018 9 October 2018
4 December 2018 20 November 2018
29 January 2019 10 January 2019
5 March 2019 19 February 2019
16 April 2019 29 March 2019
4 June 2019 17 May 2019
16 July 2019 28 June 2019
27 August 2019 9 August 2019
15 October 2019 27 September 2019
26 November 2019 8 October 2019


Name Speciality Organisational unit
Professor Bernard Carroll (Chair) Plant biology School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Dr Ulrike Kappler (Deputy Chair) Metabolic pathways School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Ms Sophie O'Neill (Secretary) Biosafety Advisor Health, Safety and Wellness
Dr Amanda Jones Biosafety Advisor Health, Safety and Wellness
Associate Professor Elizabeth Aitken Plant pathology School of Biological Sciences
Dr Victor Anggono Neural biology Queensland Brain Institute (QBI)
Dr Rowland Cobbold Veterinary public health School of Veterinary Sciences
Associate Professor Bryan Fry Evolution of venoms School of Biological Sciences
Professor Roy Hall Structure and function of flavivurses School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Professor Mark Schembri Bacterial pathogens School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Ms Susan Stephenson Independent member
Dr Milos Tanurdzic Plant development and genomics School of Biological Sciences
Dr Nick West Tuberculosis research School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Associate Professor Ingrid Winkler Replication of incompetent viral vectors and blood stem cells UQ-Mater Research Institute
Professor Ernst Wolvetang Stem cell research Australian Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN)

Main committee

The UQ Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is required to ensure compliance with legislation, regulations and standards, including:

The UQ IBC also acts as liaison between UQ researchers and the:

  • Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
  • Office of the Gene Technology Regulator.

Meeting dates

  • Wednesday 7 November 2018
  • Wednesday 10 April 2019
  • Tuesday 16 July 2019
  • Wednesday 16 October 2019


Name Position
Professor Alastair McEwan (Chair) Dean, Graduate School
Mr Jim Carmichael (Deputy Chair) Director, Health, Safety and Wellness Division
Dr Amanda Jones (Secretary) Biosafety Advisor, Health, Safety and Wellness representative
Ms Sophie O'Neill (observer) Biosafety Advisor
Mr Kerrin Henderson (observer) Biosafety Advisor
Dr Anthony Arklay University Health Services
Dr Helle Bielefeldt-Ohmann Infectious disease and immunology, School of Veterinary Science
Professor Jimmy Botella Plant biotechnology, School Biological Sciences
A/Professor Ulrike Kappler (Chair, IBC Subcommittee) Plant biology, School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Mr Kevin Wathen-Dunn UQ-Biological Resources
Dr Amanda Dines Royal Brisbane Women’s Hospital
Mr Stewart Hobbs Manager Engineering Services, Property and Facilities
Dr Wayne Jorgensen Chair, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries IBC
Ms Susan Stephensen Independent member
Ms Nicole Makoviney Research Management Office
Mr Michael Uren Consultant veterinarian, Animal Welfare Unit; member Animal Ethics Committee
Mr Barry Yeo Senior Mechanical Engineer, Property and Facilities

Gatton Biosecurity Advisory Committee

The Gatton Biosecurity Advisory Committee specifically considers biosafety and biosecurity issues for the Gatton campus.

Gatton staff must still apply to the UQ Institutional Biosafety Subcommittee for approvals to work with genetically modified material and potentially hazardous biological material.