The 2018-2021 agreement is now UQ's current enterprise agreement.

This page summarises the negotiations undertaken to reach the new agreement.

Negotiation process

The University of Queensland Enterprise Agreement 2014–2017 expired on 31 March 2017, but continues to operate until 18 March 2019.

Employees were notified of their representational rights (PDF, 136.6 KB) in relation to this round of bargaining in an email dated 9 March 2017.

The bargaining process was initiated by the nominated bargaining representatives submitting a log of claims, a list of key priorities to be discussed during enterprise bargaining. Read UQ’s 2017 bargaining objectives (PDF, 57.3 KB).

After several months of negotiation, UQ communicated the University's bargaining position (PDF, 4.2 MB) to staff to provide an overview of UQ's proposals during the negotiations, potential benefits to staff, and comparisons with similar institutions.

After in-principle agreement was reached, the proposed agreement was made available to staff on 19 September 2018.

The bargaining representatives were required to disclose certain financial benefits they may derive under the proposed agreement. For details, read the:

Staff were able to vote on the proposed agreement between 27 September and 3 October 2018.

The majority of staff voted to accept the proposed agreement, and it was then lodged with the Fair Work Commission for approval. Approval was given on 12 March 2019 and the agreement will come into effect 7 days after that, on 19 March 2019.

For a summary of key differences between the current and previous agreements, read the explanatory document that explains new and significantly different clauses (PDF, 108.4 KB)

Bargaining representatives

These are the nominated bargaining representatives who negotiated the proposed enterprise agreement.

The University of Queensland bargaining representatives:

  • Professor Aidan Byrne, Provost
  • Mr Bill Kernahan, Acting Director, Human Resources
  • Mr Anthony Lennon, Associate Director, Human Resources (Workplace Relations)
  • Ms Ann-Maree Waugh, Senior Employee Relations Consultant.

National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) representatives:

  • Associate Professor Andrew Bonnell - NTEU UQ Branch President
  • Mr Rohan Hilton - NTEU Industrial Officer
  • Dr David Callaghan - Delegate
  • Ms Avril Johnston Craig - Delegate.

Together/Australian Services Union (ASU) and United Voice representatives:

  • Ms Irene Monro - Together/ASU Assistant Branch Secretary
  • Mr Mark Starkey - Together/ASU Delegate
  • Mr Robin Jones - United Voice Delegate
  • Ms Mandy Fisher - Together/ASU Delegate.

Individual bargaining representatives:

  • Dr David Wadley
  • Ms Valentina Urrutia Guada
  • Ms Pauline Par Mavier
  • Mr Bartholomew Mearns

Payment of back pay

The new Agreement includes an agreed 2018 salary increase of 2% or $1750 (whichever is greater), effective from 31 March 2018.

After the majority of staff voted to accept the proposed agreement it was submitted to the Fair Work Commission for approval. In recognition that this approval process may take several months, a pro rata amount was paid in the pay period immediately following the vote, to staff employed at that time.

The payment was made in the pay period ending 26 October 2018.

Staff received back pay for the period between 31 March 2018 and 12 October 2018 - approximately 7 months’ worth of the annual increase.

This payment will be reported in ATO Payment Summary for the 2018-2019 financial year.